• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.



Page history last edited by PBworks 11 years, 11 months ago


Romney Alaska Video


Mitt Romney and the Super Tuesday States: Alaska


Mitt Romney and Alaska



  1. Alaska on MittRomney.com



Governor Mitt Romney Announces Alaska Statewide Steering Committee


Boston, MA – Today, Governor Mitt Romney announced the Alaska Romney for President Statewide Steering Committee. Leading up to the voting on February 5, the 13 member team will work together to organize and grow Governor Romney's grassroots support in Alaska. They join Lt. Governor Sean Parnell and State Director Chris Nelson in supporting Governor Romney.


"Alaska voters are looking for a candidate who can unite the Republican Party and bring real change to Washington. I look forward to working with this team of state leaders to share our optimistic vision for a strong America and our strategy to overcome a new generation of challenges facing our country," said Governor Romney.


"When I met with Governor Romney, I was deeply impressed by his knowledge of Alaska issues and his commitment to the responsible development of our resources to benefit our nation," said Mead Treadwell. "Governor Romney has the experience, vision, and values to lead our nation with integrity and success. Alaska voters can look at his tested and proven record to know that he is the candidate to overcome the challenges facing our nations just as he has in private business, at the Winter Olympics and as Governor. Governor Romney is the leader our country needs."


Background On Romney For President Alaska Steering Committee:


  • Lt. Governor Sean Parnell, Chair, Anchorage, was elected as Alaska's Lieutenant Governor in 2006. He served two terms in the Alaska House of Representatives prior to being elected to the Alaska Senate where he served as Co-Chair of the Finance Committee.


  • Mead Treadwell, Co-Chair, Anchorage, is the Chair of the United States Arctic Research Commission. He served as Deputy Commissioner of Alaska's Department of Environmental Conservation under Governor Wally Hickel and is a Senior Fellow of the Institute of the North.


  • Nancy Dahlstrom, Eagle River, is serving her third term in the Alaska House of Representatives where she is currently the Co-Chair of the Joint Armed Services Committee and the Co-Chair of the Legislative Council.


  • David Dittman, Anchorage, is the President of Dittman Research and Communications Corporation, one of the state's leading public opinion polling operations. During the period 1990 – 2000, the communications side of his business received more top national awards for political newsprint advertising by the American Association of Political Consultants than any other company in the United States.


  • Susan Fischetti, Eagle River, was chosen as one of Alaska's three Presidential Electors in 2000 and voted in the Electoral College for President George W. Bush. She has served as a Republican District Chair and a Member of the Republican State Central Committee.


  • Sue Hull, Fairbanks, serves on the Board of Education of the Fairbanks North Star Borough School District as well as on the Boards of the Association of Alaska School Boards and the Alaska Humanities Forum. She served as a Member of the Alaska State Board of Education from 1983 to 1988 and as Alaska PTA President from 1993 to 1995.


  • Chris Nelson, Anchorage, served as Victory '98 Executive Director for the Alaska Republican Party and was a delegate to the 2004 Republican National Convention. He is now the State Director of the Romney for President campaign in Alaska.


  • Jeremy and Tammy Rampton, Anchorage, are volunteering to work on their first political campaign. Jeremy is a Financial Counselor at North Star Hospital and is studying at Alaska Pacific University to earn a Masters Degree in Counseling to become a Family and Marriage Counselor. The Ramptons are the proud parents of a new baby girl.


  • Ralph Seekins, Fairbanks, served in the Alaska Senate where he Chaired the Judiciary Committee. He is a former Chairman of the Alaska Permanent Fund Board and former Chairman of the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce.


  • Rex Shattuck, Chugiak, retired in Alaska after twenty years of service in the United States Air Force. He now works for the Alaska Legislature as Staff to the Chair of the House Select Committee on Economic Development, Trade and Tourism and has served as his Republican District Chair and a Member of the Republican State Central Committee.


  • Jacqueline Tupou, Juneau, has served as State Chair of the College Republican Federation of Alaska, State Chair of the Conservative Leadership Program, Co-Chair of the Hispanic Republican Assembly of Alaska, and a Member of the Republican State Central Committee.


  • Carolyn Wallace, Fairbanks, is a Member of the Board of the University of Alaska Foundation and a former President of the College of Fellows of the University of Alaska Fairbanks. She has worked in the UAF Administration for over twenty-nine years.


Super Tuesday States for Romney

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. Georgia
  10. Illinois
  11. Massachusetts
  12. Minnesota
  13. Missouri
  14. Montana
  15. New Jersey
  16. New York
  17. North Dakota
  18. Oklahoma
  19. Tennessee
  20. Utah


States Romney has Won

  1. Michigan
  2. Nevada
  3. Wyoming


States Romney has came in 2nd

  1. Iowa
  2. New Hampshire

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.