• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Finally, you can manage your Google Docs, uploads, and email attachments (plus Dropbox and Slack files) in one convenient place. Claim a free account, and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) can automatically organize your content for you.


Apr 11, 2007

Page history last edited by PBworks 14 years, 2 months ago

Governor Romney Names Oakland County Leadership Team

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007


Boston, MA - Governor Mitt Romney today announced the Romney for President Oakland County Leadership team. The 26 men and women who form this team will help Governor Romney build on his already strong grassroots support in Oakland County and throughout Michigan.


"Our Oakland County Team represents a strong coalition of leaders who have spent years serving their community. I am honored to have their support as we seek to bring real change to Washington and confront a new generation of challenges," said Governor Romney.


Joining Romney for President, Oakland County Executive L. Brooks Patterson said, "Governor Romney has shown outstanding leadership in every role he's assumed: in business, in the 2002 Olympic Games and as Governor of Massachusetts. In addition, his intimate knowledge of Michigan and the challenges we face here make him the best choice. He will make an outstanding President and I'm proud to support and enthusiastically endorse his candidacy."


Romney For President Oakland County Leadership Team:


- L. Brooks Patterson, Oakland County Executive

- Sandi Knollenberg and Joseph Knollenberg, U.S. Congressman

- David Gorcyca, Oakland County Prosecutor

- Craig DeRoche, State House Republican Leader

- Nancy Cassis, State Senator

- Fran Amos, State Representative

- John Garfield, State Representative

- Marty Knollenberg, State Representative

- James Marleau, State Representative

- Chuck Moss, State Representative

- John Stakoe, State Representative

- Jim Aldrich, Romney for President County Chair

- Dennis Cowan, Oakland GOP County Chair

- Paul Welday, Former Oakland County GOP Chair

- Shelley Goodman Taub, Former State Representative

- Bill Bullard, Oakland County Commissioner / Former State Senator

- Sue Ann Douglas, Oakland County Commissioner

- Eileen Kowall, Oakland County Commissioner

- Mike Rogers, Oakland County Commissioner

- Dave Buckley, Bloomfield Twp Commissioner / Former Oakland County Commissioner

- Dan Devine, Bloomfield Twp Treasure / Former Oakland County Commissioner

- Dave Payne, Bloomfield Township Supervisor

- Mike Kowall, White Lake Township Supervisor

- Marc Shulman, Supreme Court Candidate / Former State Representative

- Marianne Packer, Former State Committee Member

Governor Mitt Romney Announces California Leadership Team

Wednesday, Apr 11, 2007


Boston, MA – Governor Mitt Romney today announced the first 15 members of the Romney for President California Leadership Team, a group of leading Californians who will support Governor Romney as he campaigns in the state and across the nation. California Senate Republican Leader Dick Ackerman and former Assemblyman Tony Strickland will serve as Chairmen of the effort.


"I am honored to have the backing of these dedicated leaders in the Golden State," said Governor Romney." Their record of service is proof that President Reagan's legacy is alive and well in California. We all believe that strong and unflinching leadership is once again needed to restore fiscal sanity in Washington, D.C."


With today's announcement, Senator Ackerman said, "In the private and public sectors, Mitt Romney has distinguished himself through his intellect and his commitment to innovation. The Republican Party must reestablish itself as the guardian of fiscal responsibility, and Governor Romney is the right leader to make that happen."


Joining Senator Ackerman, Tony Strickland added, "Governor Romney accomplished an impressive feat by bringing fiscal discipline to one of the nation's most liberal states. As a lifelong fiscal conservative, I am troubled by the spending binge we've seen at the federal level. Our nation needs a strong and tested leader like Mitt Romney to put our nation's finances back on track."


Background On Romney For President California Leadership Chairmen:


Senator Dick Ackerman Is The Republican Leader Of The California State Senate. Southern California native Dick Ackerman has represented Orange County in the state Legislature since his election to the Assembly in 1995. In 2000, he was elected to the State Senate, where he currently serves the 33rd District and as Republican Leader. As one of the four legislative leaders negotiating the state budget, he has worked hard to reduce state spending and borrowing. Prior to his tenure in the Legislature, Senator Ackerman had a long record of service in local government. He served on the Fullerton City Council for 12 years, including two terms as mayor.


Tony Strickland Is A Former State Assemblyman Who Was The 2006 Republican Nominee For State Controller. During three terms in the Assembly, Strickland earned a reputation as a taxpayer advocate and for holding government accountable. A founding member and past President of the California Club for Growth, Strickland has spent the past several years rallying California's grassroots fiscal conservatives to advocate for lower taxes and less regulation as well as business and job growth. He is a Board Member of the Ventura County Council Boy Scouts of America, an Advisory Committee Member of Food Share, and an Honorary Board Member of the Moorpark Boys & Girls Club in addition to being active in numerous civic, business and church organizations throughout Ventura County.


Romney For President California Leadership Team Co-Chairs:


- Assemblyman Anthony Adams, Monrovia

- Former Assembly Republican Leader Scott Baugh, Huntington Beach

- Former Assemblyman and Republican Caucus Chair Russ Bough, Yucaipa

- Congressman John Campbell, Newport Beach

- Fresno City Councilman Jerry Duncan, Fresno

- State Senator Bob Dutton, Rancho Cucamonga

- Assemblyman Doug LaMalfa, Richvale

- State Senator Bob Margett, Glendora

- Congressman Buck McKeon, Santa Clarita

- Former California Republican Party Chairman Mike Schroeder, Corona del Mar

- Assemblyman Jim Silva, Huntington Beach

- Assemblywoman Audra Strickland, Moorpark

- State Senator Mark Wyland, Carlsbad

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.